Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Wild Horse Winery
Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon 2010

California central coast countryside. A magnificent sight to see if ever you get the chance. Hillsides and pastures where horses are still a part of many peoples lives and once upon a time, they ran free. Wild and unbridled. Today there is less freedom and more habitat and agriculture; especially vineyards. One winery has taken ownership in the story and the name…keeping the wild horses alive on their label, is Wild Horse Winery.

Located in Templeton, CA, a stones throw south of Paso Robles, CA (well maybe a catapult throw!) is the winery and vineyards for Wild Horse. They are a very well known winery out of California and highly regarded. They keep it simple with four varietals: Chardonnay; Pinot Noir; Merlot and of course Cabernet Sauvignon. They have carved out a nitch at keeping their wines priced competitively for the everyday wine drinker and of course offering the higher priced wines for those times that require a little specialness.

August 30th, 2012 was national #CabernetDay. I was given this bottle of Wild Horse Central Coast Cabernet to sample and share my thoughts on it. I found it very inviting. Cabernets’, I’m learning, out of the central coast are a very different drinking Cabernet for me. I’ve grown up drinking Napa Cabs and the essence of Napa cabs are big, big, jammy fruit. As I have ventured into the central coast cabernets’, I find the fruit to be bold, (as that is a signature for California reds) but far more balanced with acidity and tannic structure. I’m coming into my own appreciating these Cabernets and Wild Horse Cabernet Sauvignon is one to appreciate.

The wine has the classic dark mahogany red color with aromas of cherries; dark berries and hints of vanilla and oak. When you taste it you first get hit with big berries then a little acidity and vanilla tones. A slight spice is mid-palate and a velvety, moderate tannic finish. The wine is no doubt young and needs a little breath before drinking. I decanted mine for about an hour….it really could have used a bit more. I say this because I had leftovers the next day and the cab drank even better day two! (you know I love a wine that has a little shelf life on it….even if I don’t leave it on the shelf!) I think a most perfect food to have with the Wild Horse Cabernet would be a big, juicy, medium rare, blue cheese burger! Delish!  You can easily find this wine in many retailers across the country for about $15 to $20 at grocery store chains and liquor stores. If you want to buy via online….Wild Horse Winery has an excellent website just for that!  http://www.wildhorsewinery.com.

I’m giving this Wild Horse 2010 Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon THREE BOTTLES. It’s a worthy weeknight wine and a Saturday night steak Cab. Wild, wild horses couldn’t drag me away from this Cabernet!  When it comes to California’s unbelievably diverse central coast wine country; think of Wild Horse Winery & Vineyard. It’s what the central coast is all about!

Cheers!

 

***  Sample received courtesy of Folsom & Associates  ***

 

 

