Tags

, , , , , ,

Robert Mondavi Private Selection
Cabernet Sauvignon Napa 2009

Many a restaurant will have a Robert Mondavi Cabernet on their wine list as a California offering and it goes without the explanation as to why. The name alone is so well known in American homes that if recognizable it will obviously sell, not to mention the low cost of the wine and mass production, etc…etc…I personally decide a little differently when I’m at a restaurant. I will look over a wine list for something very different and new to me – to enhance the dining experience. But while out dining with a few friends from work – it was brought to my attention when reviewing a wine list as to how much Robert Mondavi Cabernet is loved by many. Everyone in the group commented on how they have had the wine before and loved it with dinner or on it’s own for sipping. We ordered a bottle that night. I was pleasantly reminded.

I visited the Mondavi Winery in Napa a few years ago, did a wine tour, tasted many of their wines and remembered, overall they were good. I left that experience as that. Obviously many wines and many years later, I had forgotten the tasting experience I truly had with the Mondavi wines. Thankfully my recent dinner with friends brought those memories to the forefront again. I’m reminded, Mr. Mondavi built a empire and reputation on one thing….good, basic wine.

For a wine that costs $12 or less – (found my bottle for home cellar on sale at local grocery store $6.99) Mondavi holds up rather well to the competition in this pricing category. It hits on all the notes that a food friendly, drinkable Cabernet Sauvignon needs to be for the average palate. The color was a deep reddish , dark violet. The nose was dark berries; vanilla; cassis and a little oak. When tasting it, you could actually get much of the oak and vanilla up front; then the big berry fruit. The acidity was moderate and the structure was lightly tannic with a medium finish.

I give the ’09 Robert Mondavi Private Selection Cabernet Sauvignon a THREE BOTTLE rating. Is it all in the name?…you tell me. Grab a bottle; share with friends and see what truly comes to light!

Cheers!

20120227-074411.jpg

