Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’M Wine (Isabel Mondavi Wines)
Deep Rosé – Napa Valley

The Mondavi family has always been fascinating to most and as the empire built by Mr. Robert Mondavi sold and moved on with Constellation Brands; it was interesting to see the legacy of family wine making continue on with his children and grandchildren. There are many brands they have their names associated with and one that I keep hearing a buzz about is Isabel Mondavi Wines (“I’M Wine”).Named after Michael Mondavi’s wife, Isabel, I’M Wine’s grapes are sourced from their family’s Napa vineyards and from respected growers with whom the family has longstanding relationships. The wine is made as close as possible to the vineyard sites, to ensure high quality production. The Deep Rosé is made at the Michael Mondavi Family Estate in Carneros, by winemaker Rob Mondavi, Jr. (grandson of Robert Mondavi).

This Rosé is incredibly unique. It’s made from 100% Cabernet Sauvignon from the family’s Atlas Peak and Pope Valley vineyards. It’s made in the classic saigneé style, allowing for the beautiful, rich, dark color, hence “Deep Rosé”. The nose on this wine was very similar to drinking a Cabernet: rich earthiness, a bit of cherry fruit and berries. My first sip was concerning as it honestly tasted “odd”, but the next swirl and sip tasted delicious and showed much promise. I think that my mind was thinking it was going to taste like a classic Rosé, but instead got something very different and wonderful! Strawberry and cranberry filled my palate with a mouth watering acidity. The wines uniqueness is having the structure, flavor and acidity from Cabernet Sauvignon fruit, but light-weight in the mouth. It was very refreshing and complex for a Rosé.

I give this one THREE BOTTLES! It’s really worth a try for those of you loving Rosé’s and trying new things. You might recall the post I did on a Rosé early in the year. I mentioned that I had never been much of a Rosé drinker but had found one that was amazing and ever since, I’ve been on the hunt for more! After all, summer is just around the corner, it will be time to get our “Pink On”. This Rosé retails on average around $12 a bottle. Recently I found it at Grocery Outlet for a limited time at $4.99! (I grabbed a few bottles for that steal!) Look for this one at local retailers; via online; winery or their website http://www.imwines.com. It’s so “Summertime Cabernet” – You’ll love it!

Cheers!

20120413-094907.jpg

