Tags

, , , , , , ,

Castle Rock Merlot
Mendocino County 2008

I can can really get into a glass of Merlot. Truly one of my favorites. It’s name alone is pure elegance. It rolls off your tongue causing your lips to almost pucker up for a kiss when you speak it’s name. It’s no mistake; Merlot is romantic.

The last time I was perusing around the wine section at Costco, I saw a “Castle Rock” label and gravitated towards it. My most recent experience with Castle Rock (and my first) was a Pinot Noir. It was a great experience and value. For $6.99, I decided Castle Rock was worth another try, especially a Merlot.

Castle Rock 2008 Mendocino County Merlot is a BEAUTIFUL cherry red. Almost mahogany in color. The nose was of cherries; leather; cassis and currents with some ever so slight vanilla undertones. This wine, like many that are young, needed to open up a bit. This one was very tight right out the bottle. If sharing the bottle, decant for at least one hour. I used a aerator per glass and let the bottle sit open. After the hour, it was perfection! This merlot was as classic as they come; dark berries; cherries and plums. Very light on vanilla and oak with a very slight smokiness. It had a good fair amount of acidity so it paired very nicely with my strip steak. Smooth with a long finish, also very drinkable without food.

I’m scoring this Castle Rock Mendocino County 2008 FOUR BOTTLES. It’s case worthy for any Merlot lover and should be a staple red in your liquor closet! (I say closet, because I know most of us in the real world who drink wine do not really have wine cellars! For those who do and can, I’m envious!)

When it comes to red wines and it comes to romance, what better way to say, “You had me at Merlot”! Castle Rock Mendocino Merlot. Look for it at many a local retailers; Costco or buy direct at http://www.castlerockwinery.com.

Cheers!

