Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Pine Ridge 2011
Chenin Blanc + Viognier

Chenin Blanc and Viognier – a blend that was the most unusual and yet successful test Pine Ridge could have come up with in the 1990’s. Pine Ridge has a reputation in Napa Valley as a leader in Cabernet Sauvignon from the Silverado Trail and there is no doubt that they can make a truly fantastic red. I’ve had the pleasure of visiting the winery and tasting their red wines. What I wasn’t quite aware of was their genius in bringing two white varietals together in a fabulous mix that would never have normally been – Chenin Blanc + Viognier.

I saw a YouTube video from James The Wine Guy a few months ago showcasing this wine with a few others as a “must try”. (video link below)

Admittedly, the wine sounded so interesting and with the reputation of such a winery, I had to try it!

The 2011 Chenin Blanc + Viognier blend is one of the best whites I have ever had. The ’11 blend has 79% Chenin Blanc and 21% Viognier. The Chenin Blanc is very fruit forward in this wine. I don’t think I have ever smelled such a beautiful bouquet of apricot, pear and apples. Literally intoxicating from smell alone! The color is a delicate light straw, almost clear. When I finally tasted my first sip, (I really was obsessed with the aroma) it was all I could do to keep from jumping up and down, grinning ear to ear as I “swished” wine in my mouth – Absolutely SUBLIME! This wine was so full of citrus; big apple and pear with a crispness that is unmatched as well as having a full mouthfeel and wonderful long finish. I did my best to compose myself as I was tasting in front of guests – but the real fun was in their faces when they tried the wine after me and all of them grinned ear to ear! It was a resounding “WOW” in the room. Between the aroma and the tasting, we just couldn’t get over the effect the wine had on us. Really a joy to drink.

As many of you know, I don’t hand out a Five Bottle rating haphazardly. Pine Ridge has earned a FIVE BOTTLE Rating from me on this one. Realistically, a everyday white for summer, casual on the patio or by the pool to entertaining guests and fancy dinners – this one has everything to enjoy and nothing to loose. The wine runs from $10 to $12 on average. Literally a steal for such pleasure and enjoyment in a wine. Pine Ridge has got this white, right and could convert this primarily “Red Wine” drinker into a Chenin Blanc + Viognier drinker for life! Drink On!

Cheers!

