Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

“LIGHT AND FIT”

It’s 2014 and time for all of those annual resolutions. I for one, put my best foot forward after New Years Day in an ongoing effort to get healthier and fit. Exercise is one of the biggest keys (and one I struggle with the most!) and of course eating right is the other one.

Two of my tastiest favorites, are going to be a regular part of my New Year regime. Eating more Kale and drinking more Sauvignon Blanc. One of my favorite ways to eat light and especially in the winter months when it’s hard to eat lighter fare with all the pot roast and red wine flowing everywhere; is to incorporate more crisp, white wines that tend to pair with light fare foods.  One of the best in this catagory is Sauvignon Blanc. By having that glass (or two) of wine with my meals..I feel a bit less deprived, my food tastes even better and I will tend to stay away from the sweets. One excellent choice for an everyday, value Sauvignon Blanc is the 2012 Casillero del Diablo Reserva a premium line produced by the infamous Concha Y Toro of Chile.

dvinewinetime Casillero del Diablo Sauvignon Blanc 2012The Casillero del Diablo Reserva 2012 Sauvignon Blanc really surprised me and has been added to my “Favorite Sauvignon Blanc’s” list.  It’s affordable and very good.  Like a typical Sauv Blanc, this one is a beautiful pale straw with excellent clarity.  The nose is full of lemon peel and lime citrus with a very slight hint of oak.  When you taste the Casillero del Diablo Sauv Blanc you will literally feel the brightness of the lemon and grapefruit notes.  A little mineral, wet rock mid-palate with a nice crisp and long finish. Pairs wonderfully with bright foods and crisp salads.  The 2012  Casillero del Diablo Reserva Sauvignon Blanc receives a FOUR BOTTLE Rating and retails for around $12.00 per bottle.

Recently I had a friend gift me a bag of fresh lemons from her backyard tree and after a long session of pinning recipes on my Pinterest board, I found a recipe that incorporated fresh lemons and Kale. I immediately knew this would be a perfect fit for the Casillero del Diablo Reserva Sauvignon Blanc.
The following is my adapted version of the recipe I found:

Spaghetti with Kale, Lemon and Garlic (serves two)

Enough Spaghetti for two people (eyeball it, depends on how hungry you are!)
4 Tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
5-10 sprigs of dark green Kale, chopped small. (5 is minimum, I used more, just depends on how much you like Kale)
1 large garlic clove, chopped
Juice of one large lemon
4 Tablespoons of grated Parmesan cheese
A pinch of red pepper flakes
Salt & Pepper, to taste

dvinewinetime Spaghetti with Lemon and KaleCook the pasta al dente according to package directions.

When the pasta is almost done, heat the oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add the kale, red pepper flakes to taste, and season with salt and pepper. Cook and stir for 3 or 4 minutes, until the kale starts to get a bit crisp. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for another minute. Add drained pasta, lemon juice, and Parmesan cheese, and stir to combine. Serve immediately.

This dish was really great all on it’s own, but when paired with the 2012  Casillero del Diablo Reserva Sauvignon Blanc it was taken to such new heights, that I forgot that I was eating healthy!  I have made this dish and paired it with this wine, twice now and will make it a routine part of my winter light and fit regiment. So remember, when taking on these New Year resolutions of being a healthier you….don’t forget that Sauvignon Blanc is not only “light” in color and structure but it might be the saving grace that keeps you “fit” for 2014!

Cheers and Happy New Year!

 

** Sample received courtesy of Creative Palate & Concha Y Toro **